Historique de la Fondation

La Fondation canadienne Donner a été mise sur pied en 1950 par William H. Donner. Vers le milieu des années 1960, elle a commencé à accorder une attention prioritaire à des programmes portant sur des thèmes précis, parmi lesquels la recherche consacrée aux politiques publiques. La famille Donner a choisi l’année du centenaire du Canada, c’est-à-dire 1967, pour lancer un programme structuré d’attribution de bourses qui lui a permis de fournir un soutien dépassant largement 150 millions de dollars à près de 2,500 projets entrepris dans les diverses régions du Canada et du monde.

Outre l’appui qu’elle accorde de manière suivie à la recherche sur les politiques publiques, la Fondation subventionne des projets portant sur l’environnement, le développement international et les services sociaux. Chaque année, le Prix Donner Book récompense le meilleur livre sur les politiques publiques canadiennes, et la série de conférences de la Fondation présente quelques conférenciers les plus influents dans le monde. La Fondation fonctionne sous la direction d’un conseil d’administration composé de représentants de la famille Donner et d’éminentes personnalités canadiennes reconnues dans leur domaine d’expertise respectif.

 

© Donner Canadian Foundation   |   Photo: www.nunukphotos.com
Nouvelles

le 1 mai 2019
PROCLAMATION DU LAURÉAT DE LA 21 ÉDITION ANNUELLE DU PRIX DONNER

Thomas J. Courchene a reçu le Prix Donner de 50 000 $ pour son ouvrage Indigenous Nationals, Canadian Citizens: From First Contact to Canada 150 and Beyond, publié par Institute of Intergovernmental Relations, School of Policy Studies, Queen’s University.

[ PLUS DE DÉTAILS ]

History of the Foundation

The Donner Canadian Foundation was established in 1950 by William H. Donner. In the mid-1960s, the Foundation began to focus on specific program interests, among these, research on public policy. The Donner family chose Canada's centennial year, 1967, to embark on a course of professional grantmaking that has contributed well over $150 million to almost 2,500 projects across Canada and around the world.

In addition to ongoing funding of public policy research, the Foundation supports environmental, international development, and social service projects. Every year, the Donner Book Prize honours the best book on Canadian public policy, and the Foundation's lecture series features some of the world's most influential speakers. The Foundation is guided by a Board of Governors composed of representatives of the Donner family and prominent Canadians from a variety of fields.

 

© Donner Canadian Foundation   |   Photo: www.nunukphotos.com 
News

> September 20, 2018
GEORGE PACKER TO DELIVER DONNER LECTURE

Award-winning journalist and author, George Packer will discuss American politics, economics, and society in Toronto on November 8, two days after the U.S. midterm elections.
[ READ MORE ]
 

> May 15, 2018
20th ANNIVERSARY DONNER PRIZE WINNER ANNOUNCED

Patricia Meredith and James L. Darroch were awarded the $50,000 Donner Prize for Stumbling Giants: Transforming Canada’s Banks for the Information Age published by Rotman-UTP Publishing, an imprint of University of Toronto Press.

[ READ MORE ]